Air Canada allows a carry-on up to 21.5 x 15.5 x 9 in, measured including wheels and handles. Put your own bag's measurements in below — it opens with Air Canada's own limit filled in.
| Carry-on maximum | 21.5 x 15.5 x 9 in (including wheels and handles) |
| Personal item | 17 x 13 x 6 in |
| Cabin weight limit | None published |
| Is the carry-on free? | Yes, included with your fare |
| If it does not fit | Gate-checked for a $65 CAD/USD fee. |
Basic Economy: Basic fares within Canada allow the personal article ONLY — no carry-on. Gate-checking an oversize bag costs $65 CAD/USD.
Published in both units in Air Canada's Domestic Tariff: 9 x 15.5 x 21.5 in (23 x 40 x 55 cm). The tariff does not state whether wheels and handles are included.
Air Canada's 21.5 x 15.5 x 9 in works out to about 2999 cubic inches (49.1 litres) of cabin allowance, which ranks 10 of 22 among the airlines we have verified, about 1% more than the median carrier.
No other airline in our set publishes exactly 21.5 x 15.5 x 9 in, so a bag bought specifically for Air Canada is not automatically safe elsewhere — check before you fly a different carrier.
9 of the airlines we track allow a larger bag and 12 allow less, so a bag sized to Air Canada clears roughly 59% of the carriers here.
Common bag sizes measured against Air Canada's published limit. Every figure includes wheels and handles, which is where most bags lose.
| Bag | Size | On Air Canada | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cabin-max spinner | 22 × 14 × 9 in | Too big by 0.5 in | The standard US carry-on, sold as “22-inch” |
| Compact 21-inch | 21 × 14 × 9 in | Only just — 0 in spare | A common step down |
| European cabin bag | 21.7 × 15.7 × 7.9 in | Too big by 0.2 in | Sized to 55 x 40 x 20 cm |
| Underseat tote | 17 × 13 × 8 in | Fits, 1 in spare | Typical personal-item size |
| Oversized “carry-on” | 24 × 16 × 10 in | Too big by 2.5 in | Sold as carry-on, larger than most limits |
Air Canada allows a personal item up to 17 x 13 x 6 in alongside the 21.5 x 15.5 x 9 in carry-on. Both are included in the fare, so the practical question is only whether each bag is within its own limit.
Air Canada allows a carry-on up to 21.5 x 15.5 x 9 in, measured including wheels and handles. Published in both units in Air Canada's Domestic Tariff: 9 x 15.5 x 21.5 in (23 x 40 x 55 cm). The tariff does not state whether wheels and handles are included.
No — a full-size carry-on is included with your fare, alongside a personal item.
Gate-checked for a $65 CAD/USD fee.
Air Canada publishes no cabin weight limit for the main carry-on on most fares, though staff can still refuse a bag you cannot lift into the locker yourself.
Up to 17 x 13 x 6 in. Air Canada calls it a personal article; published as 6 x 13 x 17 in (16 x 33 x 43 cm).
Yes. Air Canada measures the bag including wheels, handles and any external pockets, which is why a bag sold as “22 inch” can still measure over.