Enter your bag’s dimensions and instantly see which airlines it fits as a carry-on — with the exact margin for each.
Airlines publish a maximum carry-on size as three numbers (length × width × depth). Because you can turn a bag any way in the sizer box, we compare your bag’s three dimensions sorted largest-to-smallest against each airline’s sorted limits — the same way a gate sizer works — rather than matching “length to length”.
Weight (if you enter it) is checked against each airline’s cabin weight limit; US majors generally have no strict limit, while many international carriers cap the cabin bag at 7–10 kg.
Important: airlines measure including wheels and handles, and enforcement varies by airport and staff. Treat “Tight” results as “verify before you fly.” Dimensions are normalized to inches from each airline’s published allowance.
| Airline | Region | Max carry-on (in) | Cabin weight | Free personal item | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Airlines | US | 22 × 14 × 9 in | No strict limit | 18 x 14 x 8 in | Soft-sided garment bags may not exceed 51 linear inches. Diaper bags, breast pumps, strollers and mobility devices do not count as your personal item or carry-on. |
| Delta Air Lines | US | 22 × 14 × 9 in | No strict limit | No numeric size published | Delta also caps the carry-on at 45 linear inches (length + width + height), so a bag can be within 22 x 14 x 9 on each side and still be measured overall. |
| United Airlines | US | 22 × 14 × 9 in | No strict limit | 17 x 10 x 9 in | United publishes the carry-on as 9 x 14 x 22 in; the order does not matter, the longest side is 22 in. |
| Alaska Airlines | US | 22 × 14 × 9 in | No strict limit | No numeric size published | Alaska publishes BOTH a per-side limit of 22 x 14 x 9 in and a 45 linear-inch cap, explicitly including wheels and handles, and applies it across all aircraft types. |
| JetBlue | US | 22 × 14 × 9 in | No strict limit | 17 x 13 x 8 in | All JetBlue fares include a carry-on plus a personal item, space permitting. An approved pet carrier counts as one of them. |
| Hawaiian Airlines | US | 22 × 14 × 9 in | 11.3 kg | About 18 x 14 x 8 in | 25 lb (11.3 kg) cabin weight limit. |
| Southwest Airlines | US | 24 × 16 × 10 in | No strict limit | No numeric size published | Southwest's 24 x 16 x 10 carry-on allowance is the most generous of the major US carriers. Wheels, handles and attachments count toward the dimensions. |
| Frontier Airlines * | US | 24 × 16 × 10 in | 15.9 kg | 18 x 14 x 8 in | Both allowances include handles, wheels and straps in the measurement. |
| Allegiant Air * | US | 22 × 16 × 10 in | No strict limit | 18 x 14 x 8 in | Measurements include all exterior dimensions — wheels, handles, pockets and decorations. |
| Air Canada | Canada | 21.5 × 15.5 × 9 in | No strict limit | 17 x 13 x 6 in | Published in both units in Air Canada's Domestic Tariff: 9 x 15.5 x 21.5 in (23 x 40 x 55 cm). The tariff does not state whether wheels and handles are included. |
| WestJet | Canada | 22 × 14 × 9 in | No strict limit | 16 x 13 x 6 in | WestJet publishes 56 x 23 x 36 cm (22 x 9 x 14 in) and states the bag must fit the sizer with wheels included. |
| British Airways | Europe | 22 × 17.7 × 9.8 in | No strict limit | 15.7 x 11.8 x 5.9 in | BA publishes in centimetres: cabin bag 56 x 45 x 25 cm plus a handbag/backpack 40 x 30 x 15 cm. Inches converted here. Note the 90 x 75 x 43 cm figure circulating online is BA's CHECKED bag limit, not the cabin bag. |
| Ryanair * | Europe | 21.7 × 15.7 × 7.9 in | 10 kg | 15.7 x 11.8 x 7.9 in | Ryanair publishes in centimetres: small bag 40 x 30 x 20 cm, cabin bag 55 x 40 x 20 cm. Inches converted here. Note the widely-indexed 40 x 20 x 25 cm figure is from Ryanair's 2018 release and is SUPERSEDED. |
| easyJet * | Europe | 22 × 17.7 × 9.8 in | 15 kg | 17.7 x 14.2 x 7.9 in | easyJet publishes in centimetres: large cabin bag 56 x 45 x 25 cm, small bag 45 x 36 x 20 cm, both including handles and wheels. Inches here are converted. |
| Lufthansa | Europe | 21.7 × 15.7 × 9.1 in | 8 kg | 15.7 x 11.8 x 5.9 in | Lufthansa publishes in centimetres: carry-on 55 x 40 x 23 cm at 8 kg, personal item 40 x 30 x 15 cm. Inches converted here. The carry-on is included on Economy Light, Comfort and Flex and above. |
| Air France | Europe | 21.7 × 13.8 × 9.9 in | 12 kg | 16 x 12 x 6 in | Air France publishes both units itself: hand baggage 55 x 35 x 25 cm (21.7 x 13.8 x 9.9 in), small bag 40 x 30 x 15 cm (16 x 12 x 6 in). Departures from the US are limited to 1 hand baggage plus 1 small bag. |
| KLM | Europe | 21.7 × 13.8 × 9.8 in | 12 kg | 15.7 x 11.8 x 5.9 in | KLM publishes in centimetres: hand baggage 55 x 35 x 25 cm including handles and wheels, small bag 40 x 30 x 15 cm. Inches converted here. |
| Emirates | Middle East | 21.6 × 14.9 × 8.6 in | 7 kg | No numeric size published | Emirates publishes 55 x 38 x 22 cm and gives its own imperial figure of 21.6 x 14.9 x 8.6 in. Departures from India are governed instead by a 115 cm total-dimensions rule, and Brazil departures allow 10 kg. |
| Qatar Airways | Middle East | 20 × 14.5 × 10 in | 7 kg | Laptop or handbag | 50 x 37 x 25 cm, 7 kg (Economy). Personal item has no separate published dimensions. |
| Turkish Airlines | Europe | 21.7 × 15.7 × 9.1 in | 8 kg | 15.7 x 11.8 x 5.9 in | Turkish publishes in centimetres: cabin baggage 23 x 40 x 55 cm at 8 kg, personal item 40 x 30 x 15 cm at 4 kg. Inches converted here. |
| Qantas | Oceania | 22 × 14 × 9 in | 7 kg | No numeric size published | Qantas publishes the overhead bag as 56 x 36 x 23 cm with its own inch figures of 22 x 14 x 9, measured including wheels and packed-away handles. The 115 cm linear rule still quoted on third-party sites is stale — it now applies only to bulky items on a purchased extra seat. |
| Singapore Airlines | Asia | 45.3 linear in | 7 kg | 15.7 x 11.8 x 3.9 in | Singapore Airlines publishes NO per-side carry-on dimensions — the only rule is that length + width + height must not exceed 115 cm (45.3 in) per piece, at 7 kg. Economy and Premium Economy get 1 piece; Suites, First and Business get 2. |
| Aer Lingus * | Europe | 21.5 × 15.5 × 9.5 in | 10 kg | 15.5 x 11.5 x 8 in | Aer Lingus publishes 55 x 40 x 24 cm — the 24 cm depth is deeper than the 23 cm most carriers allow. |
| Virgin Atlantic | Europe | 22 × 14.2 × 9 in | 10 kg | No numeric size published | Published as 23 x 36 x 56 cm; inches converted here. The document does not state whether wheels and handles are included. |
| ANA (All Nippon Airways) | Asia | 21.7 × 15.7 × 9.8 in | 10 kg | 15.7 x 11.8 x 7.9 in | ANA applies BOTH a 115 cm total-dimensions rule and per-side maximums of 55 x 40 x 25 cm, including wheels and handles. On domestic aircraft with fewer than 100 seats the limit tightens to 100 cm total and 45 x 35 x 20 cm. |
Yes — the published limit includes wheels and handles, and gate sizers are built to those numbers. Enter your bag’s dimensions with wheels and handles included for an accurate check.
Usually, especially for soft-sided bags that compress. Hard-shell cases are less forgiving. If a dimension is within half an inch of the limit, verify at the airport or pack a bit lighter.
Because a bag can be rotated in the sizer. Comparing each bag’s sorted dimensions to the airline’s sorted limits reflects how the box actually checks it, and avoids false failures from labeling.
The database shows a last-updated date at the top of the page. Airlines change allowances occasionally; treat results as guidance and confirm on the airline’s site before flying.
Yes. Note that on some budget carriers the full-size carry-on is a paid add-on and only a smaller personal item is free — that’s flagged in each airline’s row.